Hall of Fame

High School Hall of Fame Inductees

Individuals Team Humanitarian
Cleo Cook Broxton
Leroy Fenstemaker
Ken Gray
James Grantham
Ellen Nobles McCall
Sammy Rabb
James Slaughter
Cecil Smith
J.B. “Corkey” Virdell
1950 Football Team Henry Buttery
2003                                Sherman Bauer       Bill Farris             Linda Plant Franklin George Fraser
Gail Hopson Smith
1973 Football Team W.R. Bauman
Dayton Leifeste
Jeff Mitchell
Sylvia Hohmann Peters
David Warren “Chip” Strayhorn
1955 Boys Basketball Team Dr. Dan Hoerster
Henry Hammons
Don Ray Hopson
Sue Schlagal Myers
August Otto, Jr.
1960 Boys Basketball Team Anna Shipp
2006                                                                               Dr. Jim Roberson              

Joe Bill Watkins

Darrell Davis

Mildred Inks Dalrymple

HUMANITARIAN: Eugene Russell

TEAM: 1959 Girls Basketball Team



Jackie Ligon Hardin                                                            Ward Idol                                                               Foster(Frosty) Mitchell Miller                                    Hatch Cummings Smith

HUMANITARIAN:  Taylor Virdell, Sr.

TEAM:  1950, 1953 Liverstock Judging Team, National Champions



Jerry Butler           Norvelle Ligon Clawson    Frances Strayhorn Costner                                    Myron H. Dees

HUMANITARIAN: Major Tommy Bostick, Jr.

TEAM: 2000 Lady Jackets Cross Country State Champions



Dr. Michael Baye                                                           

         Vicki Virdell Miller                              

        Darrell Templeton

        Diane Hoerster Willmann

HUMANITARIAN: George Pechacek

TEAM: 1979 LHS  Marching Band


 Jamie Banner Humphries       

          Teresa Holloway Kassell

         David Ross

         Harold Underwood

         Gena Roberson Schuessler


TEAM: 1970 Football Team



Dennis Raesener

Mikel Virdell                  

Karolyn Bitsy Hallmark Russell                                            

Patricia Whigham Renick

Humanitarian:  General Chip Utterback- Retired U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General

TEAM: 1986 Baseball Team


Randy Scott- Class of 1968

Boyd Gray- Class of 1975

Debbie Welgehausen- Class of 1972

Arlene Leifeste Eathorne Moore- Class of 1955

Humanitarian Award: Wilburn & Carol Meier

Team Award: 2002 Girls Basketball Team


Darrell Hageman

Donna Swope

Taylor Virdell, Jr.

Allie Clinger Scott

Humanitarians:  J.P. Dodgen and Mac Hutto

Team:  1989 Baseball Team


Linda Oestreich Black

Michael Orien Rogers

Judy Winkel Brooks

Cindy Raesener Trout Naples

Humanitarian:  John D. Moran

Team: 1976 Track Team


Lloyd Beesley

Judy Butler Crumrine

Dexter Smith

Dr. John C. Reagor

Charlotte Simpson

James (Jamie) Winkel


TEAM: 1979 Mile Relay Team ( Hodges, Rabb, Fain & Baskin) 3:20 !!!


Coni Virdell Milliorn

Tommy Duncan

Kirk Hodges

Dr. Thayne Short

HUMANITARIAN: Mary Fay Richardson-Wallace

TEAM: 1979 Girls Golf Team


Ned Butler

Flay Deats

Darrell Staedtler

HUMANITARIAN: Roger Beasley and Charlie Munsell

TEAM: 1959 Tennis Team


Dr. Kevin Fain ’79

Larry Leifeste ’77

Ricky Bauman ’71

HUMANITARIAN:  Phyllis Whit Almond ’62  and Sarah Oatman Franklin ’55

TEAM: 1994 10-0 Football Team


Zack Shields- Class 1993

Brad Hatfield- Class 1990

Shellby Wright- Class 1977

TEAMS: 1976 Mile Relay Team-Judy Butler Crumrine, Leigh Ingram Jackson, Rebecca Ahrlett Smith, Donna Swope Stokes- Coachs Don Barry & Lanny Hallmark

                 1981 1600 Meter Relay Team- Carol Strayhorn Cunningham, Annette Aycock Durham, Beth Healy Coldsmith, Lynne Ward- Coaches Craig Barefoot & James Spenser

                  2001 1600 Relay Team- Kristie Howell Hutson, Jordana Rode Hooper, Tiffany Choate Lundstrom, Michelle Choate Clayton- Coach Steve Goleman

HUMANITARIAN: Kelly Oestreich- Class of 1987

2020: Cancelled Due to COVID

2021: John Baskin, Class 1980

James Grantham, Class of 1996

Kenneth Land, Class of 1960

Barry Hagemann, Class of 1979

Humanitarians: Theo (Buddy) & Janice Winfrey Crenwelge

2 Responses to Hall of Fame

  1. Don Vickers says:

    Thanks Mike for your great insight

  2. Elaine Simons says:

    Please let me know how to nominate for the hall of fame.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s